LeBron James And 2 Pacers Fined For Flopping

LeBron James And 2 Pacers Fined For FloppingHe who flopped inbof the NBA’s Eastern Conference finals shall be fined accordingly. LeBron James, David West and Lance Stephenson are going to pay dearly for their involvement in the flop fest that took place between the Miami Heat and Indiana Pacers on Tuesday, May 28.

‘Guilty’

Well, not dearly—at least not by NBA standards. The Association has, however, fined each of them $5,000 for violating the league’s flopping policy.

When pressed by reporters before Game 5 on whether he was guilty of the fine-inducing infraction, James decided to snag a page out of Drew Rosenhaus’ guide to media relations:

Howard Beck @HowardBeckNYT

LeBron on flopping fine: “It is what it is.” Asked if he’d earned it: “Did I earn it? Man, quit it. Next question.”

The sanction comes down after it was announced the league would also be reviewing the many controversial calls that were made in the latter half of the same game.


‘Banned acts’

For those who may be unaware, the NBA took a page out of the soccer playbook this season and outlawed flopping. Here’s how the NBA defines the banned acts:

“Flopping” is defined as any physical act that appears to have been intended to cause the referees to call a foul on another player. The primary factor in determining whether a player committed a flop is whether his physical reaction to contact with another player is inconsistent with what would reasonably be expected given the force or direction of the contact.

Not one of the fines from Game 4 is undeserved.

Did you watch the flop fest that took place during Game 4 of the NBA’s Eastern Conference? Who do you think deserved — or did NOT deserve — to be fined for flopping?

 

Source: Dan Favale, Bleacher Report

Image: USA Today

Who Was The Whistleblower For Tiger Woods’ Masters Illegal Drop?

Who Was The Whistleblower For Tiger Woods' Masters Illegal DropChampions Tour golfer David Eger saw something rather peculiar while watching the 2013 Masters, so he watched, rewound and watched again. After coming to a conclusion that Tiger Woods had taken an illegal drop, he called it in.

‘Bout of misfortune’

On the 15th hole during his second round, Woods smacked a wonderful shot that would soon turn into a bout of misfortune. The ball hit the pin and spiraled back off the green and into the water.  Woods took a drop, hit the ball and moved on. Most watching from home moved on as well, but not all.

Eger then did what many in the audience probably thought of doing but had no way of going about it: He called a guy who might know about such things.  He scrambled to bring the drop to the officials’ attention before Woods signed a scorecard, because Eger was out for fair play, not to get Woods banned from the tournament. Masters’ competition committee chairman Fred Ridley would eventually look at the footage and offer that Woods was closer than the three to four feet offered in the rule.


‘Purposely took a drop’

However, things were further complicated when Ridley was later informed of candid remarks by Woods to reporters that he purposely took a drop behind his divot to get a better shot. While that is clearly not the admission of a man trying to pull a fast one, it sullies the suggestion the golf star took a valid drop.

CBS Sports reports Rule 33-7—for those who haven’t already pored over this minutiae weeks ago—states, “a penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.” And so the man who started a bizarre debate was the same man who saved Woods from outright disqualification.

Now that the identity of the mystery whistleblower is already known, do you think Tiger Woods’ illegal drop is still a big deal or not? Did David Eger make the right decision when he reported the drop?

Source: Gabe Zaldivar, Bleacher Report

Image: Sport Right Now