Why You Should Steer Clear Of Socialcam On Facebook

Socialcam is a feed of user-generated videos.  Just by clicking on a Socialcam link in Facebook and accepting their app, every Socialcam video you watch from then on is shared to your Facebook friends automatically. The content is questionable, the titles of the videos are often salacious, and the images it posts in your timeline can be downright embarrassing.

Many of the videos are what the industry refers to as click-bait or link-bait: outrageously titled pieces that don’t exactly deliver what the titles imply.  To capture users’ interest, the videos are titled in a seriously provocative manner, like: “Officer vs. Gangsta Thug in Brawl,”  ”How to Steal 23 MacBook Pros, 14 iPhones, and 9 iPods In 31 Seconds,” and “Toyota Supra Drifting Unbuttons A Girl’s Shirt.”


So please, turn off social for Socialcam or choose what you share. Here’s how:

Go to Facebook and on the left hand column under apps double-click Socialcam. Once in the Socialcam app itself, in the upper right hand corner, choose Settings. Then in Settings, scroll down to “Auto Sharing” and unclick both the Facebook options. Scroll down again and hit SAVE.

One thing that troubled me about this app was that when I turned off public sharing in Socialcam on my computer but then watched a video on my mobile device, the settings reverted to make all my activity public. My workaround: go the app section of Facebook , choose settings for Socialcam and where is asks “who can see this activity” choose “Only Me”

I say watch whatever you want, but choose how you share that information — and pick apps that empower you to take control of your privacy, not those that are playing fast and loose with your reputation.

Are you a Socialcam user? Tell us what you think of this app!

Source: Yahoo News

Image: Insider